What is the basic structure of a Julia Program?

I am new to Julia language but i need to know the basic structure of a Julia Program?
I asked in stack-overflow but they are not sure.
in c and java they have but in Julia I didn’t find and I search a lot

1 Like

Julia doesn’t impose much in the way of structure for programs to run; for instance you can write

println("Hello World")

and save it in a file called test.jl. You can then run it by calling julia test.jl in the command line and it will print out as expected.

2 Likes

Reference: What is the basic structure of a Julia program? - Stack Overflow

The original question was I believe https://stackoverflow.com/questions/58645164/what-is-the-basic-structure-of-julia, now deleted?

For more efficient and maintainable programs though, it is best to encapsulate program behaviour inside functions which you call - for instance you could emulate a typical C-like format by doing something like the following

function f(x,y)
   return x+y
end

function main()
    x = 2
    y = 3
    println(f(x,y))
end

main()
4 Likes

Building on jbmuir’s answer, I usually define a top-level file that calls packages and my own custom code. For example,

#main.jl
using some_package, another_package
#A file with functions and structs etc. 
include("custom_functions.jl")
#You can keep your code in a module
push!(LOAD_PATH,path_to_my_module.jl)
using my_module
inputs = ...
results = main(inputs)
#some processing below
#custom_code.jl
function myfunction()
end