What if `df.col .= v` was in-place?

You may or may not be surprised to learn that for a DataFrame .= isn’t always in-place. It surprised me for sure, but I didn’t follow the announcements so that’s on me.

What if it was always in-place for existing columns though? And what if normal assignment only created an alias if explicitly declared (with copy on assignment otherwise, with fill for scalars)? Would that be at all breaking?

I’m curious to learn if you have used or seen:

• df.col .= v on an existing column where you need it to not be in-place

• df.col = v where you need v === df.col

• Either of the above with df[!, :col]

Here’s a tentative implementation to run with your unit tests if you’d like to: In-place broadcast assignment by gustafsson · Pull Request #3206 · JuliaData/DataFrames.jl · GitHub

2 Likes

I’m far from an expert DataFrames user but it seems unexpected to me that df.col .= v is not in-place.

7 Likes

Here are two non-exhaustive reasons for the current behavior, as far as I understand it.

• DataFrames.jl wishes to allow df.newcol .= 1 and df.newcol .= 1:3 to conveniently create new columns. Both of these have to allocate. If we were to allow df.existincol .= 1 to not allocate, then there would be more complicated rules for users to learn.
  • DataFrames.jl doesn’t want new users to worry about conversion rules. if df.x is a Vector{Int}, we do not want df.x .= 'a' to auto-promote to Int.

There are multiple competing goals and DataFrames.jl chose a behavior that satisfied some constraints, but clearly don’t fall in line with everyone’s intuition.

1 Like

As this is a poll:

For the first point, it would be better to throw an error, consistent with Julia arrays syntax, when the array does not exist.

Regarding the second point, df.x .= 'a' does promote to Int (DataFrames v1.3.6).

This is the point of this pool. In DataFrames.jl 1.4 it does not promote because this promotion was confusing users.