Welp! Swift for TensorFlow Archived

2 Likes

I think it is important to note that much of the work on the Core of the language is being upstreamed.

https://forums.swift.org/t/differentiable-programming-for-gradient-based-machine-learning/42147
https://github.com/rxwei/swift-evolution/blob/autodiff/proposals/0000-differentiable-programming.md

2 Likes

I’m a bit of a beginner here. My understanding is:

• a few years ago Google was looking for a new language for Tensorflow

• they considered Swift, Julia & others
    "In the end, we narrowed the list based on technical merits down to Swift, Rust, C++, and potentially Julia. We next excluded C++ and Rust due to usability concerns, and picked Swift over Julia because Swift has a much larger community, is syntactically closer to Python, and because we were more familiar with its internal implementation details - which allowed us to implement a prototype much faster."

• they decided on Swift

• now, they archived Swift

• Does that mean they will move to Julia next?

Probably not. It appears that Jax is instead picking up a lot of the momentum that was behind TensorFlow

I’m confused, I thought Jax is “just” for differentiation, what are they gonna do w/ Jax?

1 Like

I’m far from well informed, but I think the only reason they had to pursue an alternative language to Python was the AD and being more hardware agnostic. Jax is a Python approach that tackles both of those problems, so it’s less clear that TF needs to be rewritten in another language.

Probably wait for someone better informed than me to offer thoughts though

As @OmarElrefaei said, S4TF is heading upstream into Swift proper. Specifically, the core Swift team expressed interest in incorporating AD. Community members of S4TF responded by figuring out how to do that, and since Nov 2020 have an open proposal.