Weave not working for latex

I am new to Weave.jl and I am having trouble with the latex rendering. I have xelatex installed and can get it to render for simple latex equation, but when I try to use it for expressions that start with \begin{align} I get the following error (I shortened it):

julia> weave("MyNotebook.ipynb", doctype="md2pdf")
! Package amsmath Error: \begin{align} allowed only in paragraph mode.

See the amsmath package documentation for explanation.

Below is a simple example. Cells 1-3 render fine, but it errors on cells 4-5 (cell 5 is what cell 4 returns so they are the same)

I tried looking into ams math docs and didn’t really see anything about paragraph mode. Anyone have any ideas?

2 Likes

Could you share the full weave file @co1emi11er if you are able to? I tend to work with Weave quite a lot so curious what is blowing up.

Not totally sure if this works for string macros, but can you try triple-quoting the latex string? Eg

L"""
Equation here
"""

For regular strings, triple quotes are typically used for block text

I tried it, but it still doesn’t work like that either…

It was a good idea though. I didn’t think to try that!

What you see there is what is in the file. I was just testing out my package to see if I could use weave with it.

Here is the text if you just want to copy paste:

using Handcalcs
using Latexify, LaTeXStrings

a = 3
b = 4;

latexify("x = 2")

@handcalcs c = sqrt(a^2 + b^2)

L"
\begin{align}
c &= \sqrt{a^{2} + b^{2}} = \sqrt{3^{2} + 4^{2}} = 5.0
\end{align}"
1 Like

I could reverse engineer your error message to Help with amsmath: align not possible?

so the error comes from that it is currently set as $\begin{align}...\end{align}$

From the MWE I am not sure what you want to align in one line of math, but I assume your application has more of that?

I was a bit lazy and did not install Weave but used your small code example. As far as I can see LaTeXStrings by default encapsulates the latex string in $...$