"Variables do not have types, only values" - or maybe they do?

I’m a beginner so please forgive me if I ask something obvious. Here is a sentence from the beginning of the Types · The Julia Language documentation:

Only values, not variables, have types – variables are simply names bound to values.

When I first saw this, I quickly put together the following code:

julia> let
           println("One")
           x::Integer = 6
           println("Two")
           x = "Test"
           println("Three")
       end

I have tried to figure out what will happen when I execute it. This was my thinking:

• The variable x is declared to hold values of Integer instances
  • In the let block, there is an assignment that tries to assign a String value to that variable.
  • The documentation stated that variables don’t have types, only values do.
  • So I would expect that Julia might not compile this block of code, because it contains an incompatible assignment. (Altough this would require that it knows the type of the value in advance. But in this case, this is attributable.)
  • From the other side: if Julia can compile the above code, then it must not throw an exception when the assigment happens. The assignment just re-assigns the name after all, and the name x does not have a type. (Remember: only values can have types, not names.)

I was very suprised, because this is what happened:

One
Two
ERROR: MethodError: Cannot `convert` an object of type String to an object of type Integer
Closest candidates are:
  convert(::Type{T}, ::T) where T<:Number at number.jl:6
  convert(::Type{T}, ::Number) where T<:Number at number.jl:7
  convert(::Type{T}, ::Ptr) where T<:Integer at pointer.jl:23
Stacktrace:
 [1] top-level scope at none:5