Using GNU Make, DrWatson, and Julia scripts to track dependencies and automate script running

I have a number of scripts that I am trying to run using GNU Make, but within them, I am using DrWatson’s @produce_or_load macro to save parameter combinations to different files. I would like to use GNU Make to track dependencies and re-run later scripts when ones higher in the dependency tree have been updated. My understanding of Make is that it requires the output of a Make command to be a file so it can compare file modification times to calculate what needs to be re-run. If I use DrWatson to save the outputs instead of Make, is there a good way to have Make track dependencies? Currently I am using touch to create an empty temporary file with the same name as the script file, but this feels a bit hacky, and doesn’t track the actual outputs. It also seems to make it hard to use Make automatic variables etc (although, I am very new to Make, so I could just be missing something).

In the below mock example, I’m just using JLD2 to directly save (and load) the output, but it’s the same concept as using @produce_or_load in more complicated situations later - the saving and loading happens within the Julia scripts.

Makefile

.PHONY: all
all: tmp/single-sim_setup tmp/single-sim

tmp/single-sim_setup: src/single-sim_setup.jl
	julia $^
	@touch $@

tmp/single-sim: src/single-sim.jl tmp/single-sim_setup
	julia $^
	@touch $@

.PHONY: clean
clean:
    rm -rf tmp/*
    rm -rf data/singlesim/*

src/single-sim_setup.jl

using DrWatson
@quickactivate "TestCode"

using JLD2

states = [100, 200, 300]
time = 0:1:100

jldsave("data/singlesim/single-sim_setup.jld2"; states, time)

scripts/single-sim.jl

#%%
using DrWatson
@quickactivate "TestCode"

using UnPack
using JLD2
using Distributions
using DataFrames

#%%
@unpack states, time = load("data/singlesim/single-sim_setup.jld2")

#%%
out = map(mean -> rand(Normal(mean), length(time), states)
out_df = DataFrame(out, :auto)

#%%