User Defined Functions Using Input

This is my first program in Julia. I am most familiar with python, but as a math teacher I fell in love with being able to define a function like you would on paper (e.g. f(n) = 4n+4).

I am trying to write a simple program that prints out values of n and f(n). I can get it to work exactly the way I would like, but only if I define the function within the code. However, I would like the user to be able to input the function. This way I could change the function on the fly during a class demonstration.

I saw there was a similar question to this a few months ago in a different forum. People suggested using Meta.parse(). I read the docs and tried using it in my program but am now stuck. It works great to set the upper bound of the domain, but not to create the function. If anyone has any suggestions I would love some help.

#!julia
    println("Enter upper bound: ")
    max = Meta.parse(readline()) 

println("Enter your function: ")
    func = Meta.parse(readline())
    f(n) = func

#print top of table
    println("-"^(length(string(max)) + length("$(f(max))") + 12))

#print each row with n -> f(n)
    for n in 0: max
        print("|  ")
        print(lpad(n, length(string(max)), " "), "  ->  ", 
              lpad((f(n)), length("$(f(max))"), " "))
        println("  |")
    end

#print bottom of table
    println("-"^(length(string(max)) + length("$(f(max))") + 12))

Current output:

Enter upper bound:
    Enter your function:
    4n+4
    --------------------
    |   0  ->  4n + 4  |
    |   1  ->  4n + 4  |
    |   2  ->  4n + 4  |
    |   3  ->  4n + 4  |
    |   4  ->  4n + 4  |
    |   5  ->  4n + 4  |
    |   6  ->  4n + 4  |
    |   7  ->  4n + 4  |
    |   8  ->  4n + 4  |
    |   9  ->  4n + 4  |
    |  10  ->  4n + 4  |
    --------------------

Desired output (minus the ability to input function) with f(n) = 4n+4:

Enter upper bound:
    Enter your function:
    ----------------
    |   0  ->   4  |