Understanding the behaviour of @. macro

Hi,

I am very new to Julia and was playing around with @. (using Julia 1.10.3) and noticed that I can compute the expression

5 .* rand(10) .+ 2

as expected, however when I use

@. 5*rand(10) + 2

it does not work and gives the error “MethodError: no method matching +(::Vector{Float64}, ::Int64)”.

@macroexpand @. 5*rand(10) + 2
:((+).((*).(5, rand.(10)), 2))

Using @macroexpand I realised the error seems to be in the difference of rand.(10) and rand(10) as

(+).(rand(10), 2)  # works
(+).(rand.(10), 2) # does not work, MethodError: no method matching +(::Vector{Float64}, ::Int64)

which seems weird to me, as rand(10) produces a Vector of floats, but so does rand.(10), hence there seems to be a method available to add a float vector and an integer.

What am I missing here?
Thank you very much in advance!

3 Likes

Yeah, this is a very confusing one, verging on cursed. One way to think of it is that broadcast is creating a simple loop over all the dotted expressions, so you can think of rand.(xs) .+ ys as something kinda like [rand(x) + y for x in xs, y in ys]. But that won’t work because rand(10) gives you a vector and you can’t add (without broadcasting, but remember we already did the broadcast transform) a scalar to a vector.

There are a few things that make this especially confusing:

• 5 .* rand.(10) works, because you can multiply a scalar by a vector.
  • rand.(10)by itself — is functionally equivalent to rand(10) because, at the end of a broadcast expression, Julia “unwraps” zero-dimensional results. Theoretically, the “correct” answer to rand.(10) would be a zero-dimensional array that contains a 10-element vector, but that’s quite cumbersome in many situations. See julia#28866 for more on this.