Understanding @report_code output

Hi there,

This is my first time using JET.jl to fix the type-instability issues of my code. I am aware that maybe asking without a reproducible example might be a stretch but I will try anyways.

My function takes as an argument an SVector{9, Float64} labeled as uJ_grid then in the loop seen in the screenshot below it gets added a number and therefore the new biased_uJ is also an SVector{9, Float64}. This static array gets broadcasted by one of the functions returned by:

initial_bank_cdf::Vector{Function} = [x -> 1.0 - hermite5_cdf(params[a], initial_bank_ÎŒ, initial_bank_σ)(-overall_scale * (x + scaled_Îș)) for a in param_indices.bank_params]

This screenshot summarizes the above:

And I get the following possible error regarding type instability:

Any help to understand the message and how to fix it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Not sure if it’s the entire reason because this isn’t a MWE, but indexing a Vector{Function} and involving the inferred-Function element in a call requires a runtime dispatch because Function is abstract. If you don’t need to add or change elements to initial_band_cdf, you might improve the situation if you remove the ::Vector{Function} annotation and let the array literal try to make a concrete element type. That said, full inferrability would also depend on the captured variables not being reassigned.

Don’t post screenshots of code, paste text between 2 lines of triple-backticks (```), it’s more readable. If you think it’s too long, then put it in a Hide Details block (click the settings gear icon in the comment’s interface to see the option).

1 Like

Thanks a lot for your answer. It worked! Given my low experience with Julia and computing in general let me ask two quick follow up questions to try and understand fully what you mean: