Understanding few syntax of Julia code

I am very new to Julia language, so I started to read the documentation and all builtin functions. Now, I am learning one github project for my work. Since I am more comfortable with Python, I tried to translate Julia’s code to python by my understanding, but I got a few weird syntaxes that I didn’t understand and I got stuck with them. Can anyone point me out the meaning of those syntaxes? Thanks in advance!

syntax that I don’t understand

those julia code line that I didn’t understand because I didn’t find them either in documentations.

var1 = Tuple{Integer, Vector}[]

here we declare object var 1, what’s real example for that? what’s python version?

also if X::Matrix, n::Int, then what’s the meaning of ? in the below? How should I code this in python?

K = [( i >= j ? dot(view(X,:,i), view(X,:,j)) : 0.0 )::Float64 for i=1:n, j=1:n]

I am not sure meaning of -> in below:

for i=1:n 
      id_i = find(x -> x[1] == i, var1)
      xi_i_list =  map(x -> x[2], var1[id_i])

lastly, I just don’t understand the meaning of .> in below:

act= zeros(100)
alpha = zeros(10)

for i=1:100
    idx = find(x::Tuple{Integer, Vector} -> x[1] == i, var1)
    act[i] = sum(alpha[idx] .> 1e-3)

As a newbie, I am trying to understand the role of find(), map(). To the best, I wish I could write the above Julia code with Python. But I have a hard time understanding the code. Can anyone give possible interpretations and corresponding python codes for learning purposes? Thanks in advance!

Many of these things can’t be written in Python because Python fundamentally doesn’t have the same concepts in it.

var1 = Tuple{Integer, Vector}[]

This creates an empty array whose element type is Tuple{Integer, Vector} and binds that array to var1.

The meaning of ? in your example is that it’s part of the ternary operator. Essentially x ? y : z is equivalent to the following Julia code:

if x
    y
else
    z
end