Unable to change the tick font size when using ticks = :native with Plots.jl and pgfplotsx backend

I am relatively new to Julia (coming from python and matplotlib) and have been trying to generate some plots for a project I am working on.

It seems to be a known issue that Plots.jl does not produce ticks when there are 0 values in a plot with log-scale axis and a workaround seems to be passing ticks = :native which works with some of the back-ends I tried such as pgfplotsx and plotlyjs but not some like gr. The other workaround to specify the limits each time is quite cumbersome when generating a large number of plots and changing them.

However in this case, the tickfontsize parameter seems to have no effect on the size of the fonts. I am at a loss on how to proceed except to leave the convenience of Plots.jl and try out something like Makie which seems to be a work in progress still. Any help would be appreciated :slight_smile:

MWE:

using Plots
pgfplotsx()

x = 0:0.01:1
y = 10 .^ x
plot(x, y, ticks = :native, tickfontsize = 30)

I am using Julia 1.6, Plots v1.21.3 and PGFPlotsX v1.4.0

You probably need to add some condition for the log plots to handle the zeros.

For example, by automatically setting xlims based on positive data::

plot(x, y, xaxis=:log, tickfontsize=30, legend=false, xlims=extrema(x[x.>0]))

Or alternatively, without using xlims you could do:

ix = (x .> 0)
plot(x[ix], y[ix], xaxis=:log, tickfontsize=30, legend=false)

Thank you! I had no idea that something like extremaexisted. Unfortunately that doesn’t still let me change the tickfontsize when ticks = :native.

I am already using an index to resample my data. I tried to change that with,

x_new = x[my_ix]
yarr_new = yarr[my_ix, :] # I have series data

but I couldn’t do (quite naturally),

plot(x_new[x_new.>0] , yarr_new[yarr_new.>0], xscale = :log, yscale = :log)

Since where the zero values show up in x and each column of yarr are not idential for each series.