Typing with "where" statements leads to UndefVarError error?

Hi all. I’m very new to Julia. Using 1.2.0 in these examples.

I hit upon a little snag when i wanted to partially specify the return types for a function. E.g, specifying that the output will be SVector{N,Int} for any N , where (unlike arrays) the type was given as the second type parameter.
However, the typical where approach doesn’t seem to work here:

function f()::SVector{N,Int} where {N}
    return SA[1,2,3]
end
julia> f()
UndefVarError: N not defined

Stacktrace:
 [1] f() at ./In[27]:2
 [2] top-level scope at In[27]:6

though, strangely, the one-liner version works;

g()::SVector{N,Int} where {N} = SA[1,2,3]
julia> g()
3-element SArray{Tuple{3},Int64,1,3} with indices SOneTo(3):

Now, even stranger (to me) is that this works:

function f(x::SVector{N,Int})::SVector{N,Int} where {N}
    return 2 .* x
end
julia> f(SA[1,2,3])
3-element SArray{Tuple{3},Int64,1,3} with indices SOneTo(3):

whereas the one-liner equivalent now doesn’t work instead:

g(x::SVector{N,Int})::SVector{N,Int} where {N} = 2 .* x
UndefVarError: N not defined

Stacktrace:
 [1] top-level scope at In[18]:1

in fact, it can’t even be defined unlike the original f().

In my particular usecase, I can probably just drop the return type info for my generic functions anyway, but I thought i had i grasp on the typesystem until I hit upon this.
Is this a bug or shortcoming, or am I simply doing it wrong?
Thanks

1 Like

In general, you shouldn’t specify return types. In almost all cases, there is no benefit for doing so.

3 Likes

On rare occasion it is useful, so it would still be good to get an answer.

You are seeing the difference between f()::(SVector{N,Int} where {N}) and (f()::SVector{N,Int}) where {N}.

For f()::(SVector{N,Int} where {N}), SVector{N,Int} where {N} is a well defined (abstract) type so there’s no error.