Turing.jl for geophysical applications

Hello everyone.

I am writing this post with the hope that It helps people with background in physics, and want to learn about probabilistic programming using Turing.jl. My background is geophysics, and I only have a couple of weeks trying to learn how to use Turing.jl. I’ll share my advance so far, with the hope that the people with more experience can leave comments (performance tips, conceptual mistakes, etc), and the geophysics community can use as a guide to start probabilistic programming with Julia, and learn from my experience so far. Unfortunately, there is little information online about using Turing.jl fro geophysical applications so I’ve been more or less guessing the last couple of weeks.

I am solving a 1D-MT problem: I have a profile of resistivities in the subsurface (a vector), and a forward operator MT_forward that predicts field observations from this model, in the classical notation:

data= MT_forward(model).

The probabilistic model I built is the following:

@model function mt_inference(data,n_layers,λ)
    #Prior distribution for the possible values of resistivities
    rho ~ filldist(Uniform(0,2000),n_layers)
    #Calculate the expected value (using the MT forward model)
    exp_data = MT_forward(rho,n_layers)

#Likelihood: as a function of the L2 norm of the model, and the L2 norm of the misfit
    l2_norm_misfit = sqrt(sum((data - exp_data).^2))   
    l2_norm_model = sqrt(sum(rho).^2)
    J= (l2_norm_misfit) .+ (λ*l2_norm_model)
    for i in eachindex(rhoref)
        data[i] ~ Normal(J,10)
    end
end;

Then this model is sampled using:

chain = sample(model, Turing.NUTS(), 100);

As as mentioned before, I just have a couple of weeks using Turing.jl, and a couple of months researching Bayesian inference, so I might have conceptual errors, but my interpretation of the above model is: