Trying to solve KU=F, FEA problem, with roughly 5-10million DOFs

Hi, Im new to Julia, but i have experience with MATLAB, im trying to solve a KU=F, FEA type problem , with over 1 million DOFs. Note: the K matrix is sparse, symmetric, positive definite and banded. In matlab, the command U = pcg(K, F ,tol ,maxit=1000 , M1, M2, x0), converges very quickly. However, in Julia im finding it very difficult to pick a PCG solver of similar performance. Im using the following code.

using MAT, LinearAlgebra, LinearSolve , SparseArrays
prob = LinearProblem(K_stiffness, Force);
sol = solve(prob,LinearSolve.SimpleGMRES());

I have also tried the below code: (using cg) but it isalso horribly slow:

sol = IterativeSolvers.cg(K_stiffness, Force)

Please suggest packages and corrections to solve this linar problem quickly. Also suggest packages that may use PCG() method specifically, because it has proven its competence (in matlab) for this specific problem.

1 Like

It seems, you are running without a preconditioner here. What is M1, M2 in the matlab example?

Can you say more about your problem ? Is it elasticity ? Diffusion ? 2D or 3D ?

You can run LinearSolve with KrylovJL_CG instead of GMRES. You can find preconditioners in ILUZero.jl and AlgebraicMultigrid.jl .

3 Likes

The LinearSolve documentation explicitly recommends against the IterativeSolvers.jl implementations and recommends the Krylov.jl ones for this reason. So did you try sol = solve(prob,LinearSolve.KrylovJL_CG())?

3 Likes

M1 and M2 are not fed in matlab. In the place of M1,M2 in the matlab pcg syntax I just give [ ], [ ] . Also my problem is an electrostatic problem. So it’s more like [K]*[Phi] =[ F ]. Where phi is nodal electric potential. . It’s a 3D problem with uniform, linear cuboidal mesh elements, hence a lot of DOFs. Thank you for the recommendation for gmres and krylov. Can you please give me the code for solving this problem. I’ll try out and let you know. Thanks in advance.