Trying to CVODE_BDF with complex-valued ODE (?)

Most of the systems that I solve have complex-valued functions and, until now, I always separate the real and imaginary part of each equation to solve them in the real domain, i.e., going from a single complex equation to two-coupled real ones. But then I tried to implement the complex problem directly into the system now that I am using Julia (I am new at Julia, but im enjoying it).

In this topic DifferentialEquations.jl error when solving equations with complex variables - Usage - JuliaLang I saw how to implement complex-valued ODE, but what if the system was stiff? Most of time I use solvers like CVODE_BDF, but for complex-valued ODE this warning happens: “MethodError: Cannot convert an object of type Vector{ComplexF64} to an object of type Ptr{Sundials._generic_N_Vector}”

I don’t know if I can do something in my problem description to avoid this error or the solver simple can’t handle this kind of problem. I will try to encompass the idea of my code in the example below (the following system isn’t necessary stiff, its just an example):

function example!(du,u,p,t)
x,y = u
du[1] = dx = y
du[2] = dy = im*x
end

Δt = (0, 10)
x₀ = 1 + 0im
y₀ = 1 + 0
im
u₀ = [x₀,y₀]

prob = ODEProblem(example!, u₀, Δt)
@time sol = solve(prob, CVODE_BDF())

It is the solver that can’t handle this kind of problems or is something that I am doing wrong? How can I solve these kind of problem without always separating in real/imaginary parts ?

Using OrdinaryDiffEq methods is a good alternative.

using DifferentialEquations
function example!(du,u,p,t)
    x,y = u
    du[1] = dx = y
    du[2] = dy = im*x
end

Δt = (0, 10.0)
x₀ = 1.0 + 0im
y₀ = 1.0 + 0im
u₀ = [x₀,y₀]

prob = ODEProblem(example!, u₀, Δt)
@time sol = solve(prob, QNDF(autodiff=false))
@time sol = solve(prob, TRBDF2(autodiff=false))
@time sol = solve(prob, KenCarp47(autodiff=false))