Trying to better understand how Julia listens on a UNIX domain socket or named pipe

Hi all,

I copied the following code from this Discourse response about linking Julia and node.js. I’m very new to the idea of both tasks and sockets, and although I’ve got the code working perfectly for my use-case, I wanted to gain a better understanding of what is actually happening.

# Some setup code
@async begin
           server = listen(pipe)
           while true
               sock = accept(server)
               @async while isopen(sock)
                   input = JSON.parse(sock)
                   # Some code that does something to input
              end
           end
       end
# Some following code

My understanding is this:

The first @async treats everything in the begin clause as a function, wraps it in a Task and immediately starts executing the Task, as well as allowing the main routine to proceed to any code after the begin clause ends. Within this first Task, a PipeServer is created and stored in the variable server by calling listen on the UNIX domain socket denoted by pipe. Then a while true loop is initiated. I think the purpose of this loop is to make sure that the first Task doesn’t finish, and we keep listening on the UNIX domain socket indefinitely. I think (hope) I understand everything up to this point. But I don’t understand the next bit, even though it works perfectly for me.

On the first iteration of the while true loop, we call accept(server). My understanding is that this creates an open IOStream and stores it in sock. Normally, I would have thought that sock would be open immediately after this call. Is this right? Or is sock only “open” when some data is sent through the domain socket?