Timedwait() doesn't time out

I’m new to Julia’s multi-threading and frankly Julia itself. I’ve been reading up on the API docs and trying various things on REPL. In particular, I was playing with the timedwait() method which IIUC runs a given function either until it finishes or the deadline has been reached. So to test my understanding I did:

julia> function test()                                                                                                                                  
         sleep(2)                                                                                                                                       
         return true                                                                                                                                    
       end                                                                                                                                              
test (generic function with 1 method)

julia> timedwait(test, 1.0)                                                                                                                             
:ok

In other words, I defined a function that simply sleeps for 2 seconds and returns true. And I ran timedwait() on that method with a timeout of 1.0, but this returned :ok. What am I missing here?

1 Like

The callback function is called multiple times (until returning true). Your function always return true so timedwait returns :ok. I agree that the docstring for timedwait isn’t very clear though so would be good to improve that.

Here is an example:

julia> cb = function()
           @info "Callback called"
           return false # always false so this will time out
       end;

julia> timedwait(cb, 1.0)
[ Info: Callback called
:timed_out