Things that are easier in Julia than Python/R etc

For the past year or so, I’ve been trying to encourage my firm to give Julia a place in our tech stack. Now that the idea has finally gained some traction, I can present a more formal case with some code samples.

To that end, what are some things that Julia has saved you a lot of time on in comparison to say, Python?

I work in finance, so any applications in that regard are preferable, but all thoughts more than welcome.

6 Likes

DataFramesMeta.jl is designed to make something a lot easier to do in Julia than in dplyr: working with variables programmatically.

julia> using DataFramesMeta;

julia> df = DataFrame(x1 = [1, 2], x2 = [3, 4]);

julia> function clean_data!(df, var1, var2)
           @chain df begin
               @rtransform! $var1 = $var1 * 100
               @rtransform! $var2 = $var2 * 200
           end
       end;

julia> v1 = "x1"; v2 = "x2";

julia> clean_data!(df, v1, v2)
2×2 DataFrame
 Row │ x1     x2
     │ Int64  Int64
─────┼──────────────
   1 │   100    600
   2 │   200    800

I am continuously baffled by how to do this in dplyr. The new brackets feature {{}} does not fix this. {{}} makes it easier to work with symbol literals representing columns. But that’s not ideal, we want people to be able to use variables to represent column names.

16 Likes

I second @pdeffebach . In things like pandas, it’s a huge monolith and honestly. 90% of things I want to do are there. But for me it’s more like the flexibility of Julia and I know I can just write the code in a way that suits my needs using various package and not have ot rely on one huge monolith where if the exact function I want is not there then it will be slow.

Other Julia niceties are in customized fast algorithms.

8 Likes