The function to optimize in JuMP

Folks, my prior experience is mainly in Matlab and I’m new to Julia, so forgive me if my question is basic.

I’ve written a likelihood function in Jupyter and want to maximize this function in JuMP. Since it’s 600 lines or so, I don’t want to type it directly in the REPL window/shell and don’t think it would work that way. I’ve saved it as a .jl file.

I find that functions that work fine on their own aren’t recognized when I try to maximize them in JuMP, at least if the function exists only inside a Jupyter file. To give a simple example, I type
include(“gammalikely.jl”)
data=[1;4;2;6;12;2]
M=Model(solver=IpoptSolver())
@variable(M,alpha>=0,start=0.0)
@variable(M,Beta>=0,start=0.0)
@NLobjective(M,Max,gammalikely2(alpha,data,Beta))
and get
“ERROR: Unrecognized function “gammalikely2” used in nonlinear expression”

Do you know how I can maximize a function if it’s defined in a file? Thanks in advance.

You need to ‘register’ your user-defined function as described in the documentation here. I’ve found that section of the docs to be a bit confusing so give it a try and post back if you still have problems?

Thanks. I’d thought JuMP.register() might be the key function but then I was confused becayse mysquare(x)=x^2 seemed to be typed directly into the command window in their example.

It still doesn’t seem to be working for me. Using the example of a function of mine, “gammalikely2”, JuMP.register works without complaint from the program, I define my 2 variables, but then at the NLobjective line it complains that

“ERROR: Unrecognized function “gammalikely2,jl” used in nonlinear expression”. My goal is to maximize the function gammalikely2 by optimizing the two parameters, alpha and beta, given the data inputted. I also tried typing just “gammalikely2” instead of “gammalikely2.jl”. I’ve attached a screenshot of the last 11 commands leading up to the error.