Suggestions needed: global binary optimization

The problem is very simple: x is a vector taking value from 0 or 1; S is a real symmetric matrix. The object is to minimize dot(x.+c, S, x.+c) with the constraint sum(x)=N, where N is an integer smaller than length(x) and c is just a real float number.

The issue is: the length of x is very large (~10^4) and I believe a deterministic solution is not possible (maybe I am wrong?). I have little knowledge in mathematical optimization and could use some suggestions on what algorithms I should spend time to investigate to solve such a problem.

What if you do an eigenvalue decomposition of S and pick the x non-zero for the N largest eigenvalues?

1 Like

I didn’t quite understand that. Which eigenvalue decomposition do you suggest to use? Here’s a non-optimal snippet which minimizes the function by brute force for a random S and c. And a list of eigenvalues. How does your suggested algorithm pick the first and fourth position?

using LinearAlgebra                                                                                   
using Combinatorics                                                                                   
import Random                                                                                         

Random.seed!(42)                                                                                      
M = 4                                                                                                 
N = 2                                                                                                 
A = rand(M,M)                                                                                         
S = A + A'                                                                                            
c = rand()