Suggestion: introduce something like a @inferable or @typestable macro to the language

Hi,
I’m quite new to Julia and so far I can say that I fairly like the language. Especially, the generic programming ability in combination with multiple-dispatch is a great idea which I explicitly love. :yum:

That said, I find it a pity that Julia is still located in a niche and has not yet managed to evolve into one of the mainstream languages. Referring to the talk of Jeremy Howard (https://youtu.be/s6pjxCuNGjc) at JuliaCon, I support his opinion that one of the main drawbacks of the language is the difficulty of creating static executables which are small in size and comparable with C or Fortran binaries. I understand, that the dynamic typing system of Julia demands to ship the compiler code along with the actual binary (to allow JIT compilation) which is in my opinion the main difference to a statically typed language (as C or Fortran) (sure, you need to ship some extra code for heap memory management, but I guess this could probably be optimized to some KB in native code size; please correct me here if I’m wrong).