Struggling with defining a good factorization rule in SymbolicUtils.jl

I started playing with Symbolics.jl but started needing more rewriting rules than what’s currently proposed. Taking a quick look at the rewrite docs, I don’t understand why some of the examples below don’t work.

using SymbolicUtils

@syms a::Real b::Real c::Real
factor = @acrule (~x*~y + ~x*~z) => ~x * (~y + ~z)

factor(a*b + a*c)           # a*(b+c)
factor(sin(a)*b + sin(a)*c) # nothing
factor(2b+2c)               # 2(b+c)
factor(2a*b + 2a*c)         # nothing
factor(a^2 + a*c)           # nothing

Any clue as to what’s happening here and how to fix it? (I am sure there are much better ways to write a factorization rule, including an arbitrary number of sum terms which I couldn’t figure out with segment variables).

Try defining two rules.

factor1 = @rule (~x * ~y + ~x * ~z) => ~x * (~y + ~z)
factor2 = @rule (~x * ~z + ~y * ~z) => (~x + ~y) * ~z
factor1(a*b + a*c) # a*(b + c)
factor2(a*b + a*c) # nothing
factor1(sin(a)*b + sin(a)*c) # nothing
factor2(sin(a)*b + sin(a)*c) # (b + c)*sin(a)

I think the root problem is that SymbolicsUtils.jl is not aware of the inherent commutativity of the multiplication operator *. The @acrule macro only imposes associativity-commutativity for the top-level operator, which is the + operator for the rule with LHS (~x * ~y + ~x * ~z). This seems to be a serious limitation though not strictly speaking a bug. It’ll be great if Symbolics devs can offer some insights here. Should I file a GitHub issue?

The example factor(2a*b + 2a*c) will not work because 2*a*b cannot be matched by ~x*~y, a well documented behavior (or perhaps limitation) of SymbolicsUtils.

1 Like

Thank you for your answer! My guess woud be then that SymbolicUtils rearranges sin(a)*b into b*sin(a), thus why only right factorization works.

It would probably be a good idea to file an issue, I can do it if you lack the time.