Struct with Multiple Dispatch

Hello,

I’m new to Julia and am watching the Juliacon 2020 video series. I have a question about the use of a mutable struct in this video here.

From what I am seeing, I think he defines a mutable struct with some fields, then defines two methods for that struct. So If I wanted to do something similar I could do

a = 3
b = 5
# Example of multiple dispatch with a mutable struct
begin
	mutable struct MyStruc
		C::Float64
		a::Int64
	end
	# Multiple dispatch of struct
	MyStruc(C::Float64; aValue=a) = MyStruc(C,aValue)
	MyStruc(C::Int64; bValue=b) = MyStruc(C,bValue)
end

That seems to work. But the syntax is strange to me, doing MyStruc = MyStruc. Am I correct there are two methods for this struct? I’m using Pluto and I don’t see “MyStruct with two methods” above the cell with the struct defined (unlike when I define a function with multiple methods and it does say the number of corresponding methods above the cell).

I also tried the following

# Example of multiple dispatch with a mutable struct
begin
	mutable struct MyStruc
	end
	MyStruc(C::Float64; aValue=a) = MyStruc(C,aValue)
	MyStruc(C::Int64, a::Float64) = MyStruc(C,a)
end

But when I try to use the second method like this

TestStruct = MyStruc(3, 101.1)

I get a StackOverflowError. Not sure why though - would appreciate any comments and insight on this.

mutable struct MyStruc
end

is enough.

julia> TestStruct = MyStruc(3.1, 101)
MyStruc(3.1, 101)

julia> TestStruct = MyStruc(3, 101)
MyStruc(3.0, 101)

but:

julia> TestStruct = MyStruc(3, 101.1)
ERROR: InexactError: Int64(101.1)
Stacktrace: ...

to avoid this you could define a method (multiple dispatch):

MyStruc(C::Int64, a::Float64) = MyStruc(C, Int(round(a)))

then you get:

MyStruc(3.0, 101)

[quote=“TI36XPro, post:1, topic:53118”]
Am I correct there are two methods for this struct?

No, there are four. You can check with the methods function:

julia> methods(MyStruc)
# 4 methods for type constructor: