Stochastic DDEs?

hi

I’m new to Julia, but looking to port a neural mass network model with both delays & (linear additive) stochastic forcing (which I’ve solved elsewhere by adding delays by hand to typical SDE methods). Looking through the DiffEq docs, I haven’t see how the two would be combined, since one has to choose a problem type.

Does nayone have a pointer/example?

thanks in advance!

We do not support stochastic DDEs yet. You found our missing method :frowning:. I plan to add this in about a year, but it’s not likely to be earlier.

2 Likes

Any update on this? I just looked through the docs and there doesn’t seem to be anything there. To be honest, I’m not looking for anything too fancy: we currently use a Heun step with a ring buffer to implement the delays. We do parameter sweeps and Bayesian inference with this, so I’m looking at how to hit the GPU support and gradient as well for the ML packages. I really can’t from the docs if I should try to shoehorn this into DiffEq or grow it myself; if you had a gut reaction to share I’d be interested.

In the last year, we put a paper out on stochastic delay differential equation solvers (http://real.mtak.hu/106039/1/ENOC_StochasticDelayDIffEq.pdf) and a library (https://github.com/SciML/StochasticDelayDiffEq.jl). We just need to get it to the right versions (it may have fallen behind a bit since that demonstration) and document it and it should be good to go.

2 Likes

Thanks! Just read the paper and the code.

I’ll update it to the latest DiffEqNoiseProcess/StochasticDiffEq today at least.