StaticCompiler: Debugging and calling basic math functions

I am relatively new to julia, but already managed to speed up a piece of code by factors of 2 to 5 compared to my numpy version. Now i need to deploy this code as a shared library on a cluster in a corporate environment without julia installation. I looked into PackageCompiler first, but did not like the mandatory package creation and overhead. It seems extremely messy. A much cleaner solution seems to be StaticCompiler. I got enthusiastic when I managed to run the corresponding example from the docs, but trying to use my own code fails already at the most trivial of lines:

function my_example(a::RefValue{MallocMatrix{Float64}},
						b::RefValue{MallocMatrix{Float64}},
						c::RefValue{MallocVector{ComplexF64}})
	@inbounds for ib in 1:size(b[],1)
		c[][ib] = unsafe_trunc(exp(-2. *pi*im*(a[][1,1]*b[][ib,1] + a[][1,2]*b[][ib,2])))
	end
end

This will compile, but crash when trying to load the so-file in python with ctypes. The error message is “undefined symbol: ijl_apply_generic”. It will not crash if i do something even simpler, like writing some elements of b into c.

I understand that this kind of error occurs when you use “runtime” features like exceptions. However i have no idea what “apply_generic” might be and how to avoid it.

I would be thankful on any help about how to debug this kind of problem in general, and about the nature of my specific problem.

If you haven’t seen it already you probably want to read Successful Static Compilation of Julia Code for use in Production.

This particular problem isn’t discussed there. In general the best way to debug these kinds of issues is to try to simplify the code as much as possible until the problem goes away. @code_llvm (or the function form) is helpful to spot when problematic calls appear.

For this code you can eliminate almost everything without getting rid of apply_generic, until you realize that

julia> unsafe_trunc(1 + 2im)