State of AD in 2024

Hi,
I’m new to the Julia language and am trying to understand the AD ecosystem. From what I understand, Julia wants to broaden AD beyond the type of models you might find in Pytorch and Jax while also retaining similar performance on CPU and GPU. I read that Zygote differentiates on low level Julia IR but now the attention is towards other projects like Diffractor and Enzyme which differentiate at an even finer level.

Anyways, I found this post discussing the state of AD around last year, so perhaps maybe a news update on the current tools is in order? I’m excited to use yall’s packages.

2 Likes

Good question!
There are plenty of libraries out there, which can make it hard to wrap your head around it all. That’s why the page

https://juliadiff.org/

was updated in January 2024 to reflect the current state of affairs. You can find a summary below, which I restricted to “automatic differentiation” in the most common sense – leaving finite differences and symbolic approaches aside.

Forward mode

Relevant when you have few inputs and many outputs, rather easy to implement, can handle a vast subset of Julia.

The main packages are ForwardDiff.jl (or PolyesterForwardDiff.jl for a multithreading speed boost) and Enzyme.jl.
Diffractor.jl is still experimental, and I would say not yet suited for general use?

Reverse mode

Relevant when you have few outputs and many inputs (typically in optimization), much harder to implement, can handle a narrower subset of Julia.

The main packages are Zygote.jl and Enzyme.jl:

• Deep learning (e.g. Flux.jl, Lux.jl) tends to use Zygote.jl for its good support of vectorized code and BLAS. Restrictions: no mutation allowed, scalar indexing is slow.
  • Scientific machine learning (e.g. SciML) tends to use Enzyme.jl for its good support of mutation and scalar indexing. Restrictions: your code better be type-stable, and the entry cost is slightly higher (but the devs are extremely helpful, shoutout to @wsmoses).