Stacked bar graphs

Hello all, I’m quite new to Julia and was a bit lost on how to create Stacked Bar graphs. I’d like to have ideally 8 bars, grouped in pairs. Each of these bars would have 5 stacks that add up to a 100%- this is basically plotting a variance decomposition. So it would look like 4 sets of 2 bars each, each grouped pair of bars would have the same repeating label of “Conditional” and “Unconditional Variance”, and the stacks would represent shocks/errors that have their own titles. Each pair would represent testing a certain model, i.e. 4 models being tested in total.

I’d appreciate any and all help, thank you!

In Gadfly:

import Cairo
using DataFrames, Gadfly, RDatasets
D = dataset("datasets","HairEyeColor")
palette = ["brown","blue","tan","green"]

p = plot(D, x=:Sex, y=:Freq, color=:Eye, xgroup=:Hair,
    Geom.subplot_grid(Geom.bar(position=:stack)),
    Scale.color_discrete_manual(palette...), 
    Guide.xlabel("Hair color"))

# draw(PNG("haireyecolor.png", 6.6inch, 4inch), p)
draw(PNG(6.6inch, 4inch), p)

haireyecolor

For more Gadfly, see the plot gallery.

2 Likes

An alternative is to use StatPlots: https://github.com/JuliaPlots/StatPlots.jl#grouped-bar-plots

1 Like

I’ve seen this and attempted it with StatPlots, but I’m not sure where to input the values (manually) for the stacks? And to group them in pairs?

great, thank you! If I wanted to input the values manually, how would this be arranged? I.e. in what order?

I was looking at attempting what you did in this: https://discourse.julialang.org/t/plots-bars-side-by-side but with manually adding stacks and putting in these values for each bar having 5 stacks.

Interestingly enough I think StatPlots and StatsMakie are both a bit ill-equipped to both stack and dodge bars at the same time. It should be possible to add this feature to StatsMakie with the new grouping API though.

2 Likes

@svpillai The easiest way to enter data is to make a DataFrame. e.g.

# Set up the DataFrame