Spawn() documentation update request

Hi all. I’m new to the community so pardon me if I’m not posting in the right area or am asking a dumb question. This looked like the best place to start.

My question/request is simple: Could documentation for the spawn() method be updated?

I am doing some work with pipes and threads and ended up using the solution shown here. However, the usage of spawn() is entirely different from the documentation, which seems to indicate that the only thing you can do with spawn is execute a command as a child process.

Base.spawn — Function.

spawn(command)

Run a command object asynchronously, returning the resulting Process object.

source

The documentation makes no mention of being able to pass a StdIOSet or Nullable{ProcessChain} as parameters, which is how the Github issue 11823 used it.

I am new to Julia and working with pipelines in general. Just coming out of some hobbyist-level work with Python, so my experience is limited. However, since spawn() seems so useful, and the code is there, it’d be really nice if the documentation reflected its capabilities and was explained clearly.

Thanks and cheers!

1 Like

Asking for help is good, but the best way to actually make this happen is to do it yourself. Julia’s documentation is easy to edit (it’s just plain text with some Markdown), and the particular documentation for spawn() is right here. You just need to clone the Julia repo, edit the docs, and open a pull request (we can provide pointers to resources if you’re not familiar with the whole pull request thing).

You’re in a great position to do this right now since it sounds like you’re already familiar with what should go into that documentation. Good luck!

1 Like

Oh, and the source for the various spawn() methods is here: https://github.com/JuliaLang/julia/blob/c463c1f49872ac3d1b7c0809d00288c119ed0909/base/process.jl#L394

I found that by doing:

julia> @edit spawn(`ls -la`)
2 Likes