Solving a PDE which comes from an HJB in DifferentialEquations.jl

I was wondering whether one could use the Finite Difference Method developed in the recent GSoC project DiffEqOperators.jl to solve the following PDE, which comes from an HJB that describes a household consumption/saving problem from economics:

where a is wealth and y is income, see section 4 in this paper on page 43 for details (boundary conditions, etc).

I thought about discretizing the y-variable and solving only in the a-direction.

The regular way to solve those PDEs is writing your own FDM or use a specialized FDM solver package.

1 Like

In principle there’s a way to rewrite it as just a derivative in a, and time step a system of ODEs in the a direction. You need to make sure that the operators you’re choosing give a stable discretization of the PDE though. I am not an expert in HJB itself so maybe @jlperla could chime in.

While there is some work to be done to get the BCs to all line up to the same convention:

the Neuman0 BC is exactly what you need here. So a lot of those operators should be pretty easy to write down with the lazy operators of DiffEqOperators.jl. The tricky thing is that da isn’t isolated. You’ll probably need to chain rule on the da term to isolate dv/da, but then you’ll get something that discretizes nicely. This source

says it’s possible to get there though I don’t know the exactly how your formulation lines up with their discussion there.

(Though note I am looking for collaborators to help build an HJB solver for Julia so this can be put to rest since it comes up quite often. Or if you’re just willing to throw papers at me to let me know what economists are interested in, I’ll read them.)