Solve for Hermitian PSD with non-linear objective in JuMP

I am new to using JuMP, and was hoping for some help. I am trying to estimate the elements of a matrix that is:

• Hermitian (in general complex numbers)
  • Semi-positive definite
  • diagonal elements are >= 0
  • trace == 1

After reading a good portion of the docs and googling, I think I understands how to define the variables and constraints (given that JuMP only accepts real variables), so that for A = AR + i AI,

@variable(model, AR[1:4,1:4], Symmetric)
@variable(model, AI[1:4,1:4] in SkewSymmetricMatrixSpace())
@constraint(model, [AR AI; -AI AR] in JuMP.PSDCone())
@constraint(model, conAR[i = 1:4], AR[i,i] >= 0)
@constraint(model, conAI[i = 1:4], AI[i,i] == 0)
@constraint(model, sum(AR[i,i] for i in 1:4) == 1)

However, the objective function I am maximizing is non-linear (but well-behaved, differentiable). I am not an expert in complicated optimization problems, but from the documentation, there do not seem to be any solvers that advertise working for both non-linear and semi-definite programing. Does anyone have a suggestion for a solver for this problem? Iā€™ve tried a few, but everything has protestedā€¦ can I simply not include the PSD constraints in a non-linear problem?

Thanks in advance!

I donā€™t think any solver supports PSD+nonlinear directly.

If the objective function is convex, reformulate it as a conic optimization problem.

If the objective function is non-convex, youā€™re out-of-luck. You could try forming a convex approximation of the objective function to generate local solutions. Or you could try and rewrite the PSD constraint as a nonlinear user-defined function Nonlinear Modeling Ā· JuMP (e.g., eigen(x...) >= 0). I donā€™t have any experience doing so, but others may have.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply - I was afraid that was the answer.