Shifting the base value of sparse arrays from 0 to 1

Hi everyone!
I’m new to Julia, so the answer to my question is possibly trivial. I have an array A(n,m) in which I store indices that are used to iterate over other data structures (e.g., vectors, matrices,…). Since Julia starts indexing vectors with 1 (instead of 0 like in e.g, C++), I need to store many 1’s in A. In my case, A consumes much memory, but B = A(n,m) - ones(n,m) is sparse and consumes much less. I need to access these values often in my code. Clearly, I could add “+1” each time when accessing element B[i,j], but this is really a mess (for reading and debugging). Therefore, it would be convenient to store only the “non-ones” instead of the “non-zeros”.

Do you know an option to “shift” the base of a sparse array (as sketched above from 0 to 1), or at least an efficient (readable, debugging-friendly) work-around?

eg a MappedArray:

julia> using MappedArrays, SparseArrays

julia> mappedarray(x -> x + 1, spdiagm(0 => ones(3)))
3×3 mappedarray(x->x + 1, ::SparseMatrixCSC{Float64,Int64}) with eltype Float64:
 2.0  1.0  1.0
 1.0  2.0  1.0
 1.0  1.0  2.0

Although that almost certainly won’t be sufficient as it will hit the generic implementations of nearly every function you call — meaning that it’ll iterate over every position and not just the stored values with some cleverness to account for the non-stored values.

I don’t think I understand what you mean — AFAICT it will make a call to getindex, and the generated code looks equivalent to getindex(...) + 1. As for benchmarks,

using MappedArrays, SparseArrays, BenchmarkTools

B = spdiagm(0 => ones(Int, 10)
A = mappedarray(x -> x + 1, B)
ι = [CartesianIndex(rand(1:10), rand(1:10)) for _ in 1:1000]

f(A, ixs) = [A[ix] for ix in ixs]
f1(B, ixs) = [B[ix] + 1 for ix in ixs]

@btime f($A, $ι);
@btime f1($B, $ι);
julia> @btime f($A, $ι);
@btime f1($B, $ι);
  4.664 μs (3 allocations: 7.98 KiB)

julia> @btime f1($B, $ι);
  4.194 μs (3 allocations: 7.98 KiB)