Shapefile.jl writing .shp without coordinates

I loaded a Shapefile in Julia, transformed it to a datafame and then did some data cleaning, getting rid of some unneeded rows of data. I saved the shapefile again, with a new name, using “Shapefile.write” and tried to open the file in ArcGIS Pro. The layer did open, but it didn’t display on the map, saying that it didn’t have a coordinate system.

I tried to solve that in Julia, and I’m assuming that the transformation to Dataframe might have stripped that information and I need to recover it, but I don’t know how.

So, I’m guessing I have two options:

1. Is it possible to delete the rows of data without transforming the shapefile to a Dataframe? I’m basically a data analyst and I’m very familiar with DF, so that’s why I did it, but since the Shapefile seems compatible with the “Tables.jl” interface, I might be able to skip the transformation in some way.
  2. Or is it possible to add a coordinate system to the file when I’m saving the dataframe as a shapefile? And if so, how do I know I’m using the correct one?

I’m sure this might be a fairly easy problem, but I’m new to GIS and I’m not still very familiar with all the ins and outs of shapefiles.

I’ll appreciate any insight someone can give me.

Welcome @alejandromerchan, are you able to post the shapefile and a MWE?

As a quick fix you can always assign a coordinate system of a shapefile once it’s loaded into ArcGIS.

The file I’m using comes from this [website]. (California Public Land Survey System - California Pesticide Information Portal) Is the statewide file, on the lower left corner, but I’m assuming any of them would have the same issue (I haven’t checked).

MWE

using DataFrames, Shapefile
table = Shapefile.Table(“./Statewide_CA_PLSS_NAD83AlbersCA_20240718.shp”);
plss = DataFrame(table)
# Filter data where column SECTION has “OE”, “TA” or “EA” (Sections from the Delta, Tahoe and Salton Sea)
subset!(plss, :SECTION => ByRow(x → x ∉ [“EA”, “OE”, “TA”]));