Setting up distributed workers on seperate nodes of cluster - PBS and OpenMPI

I’m quite new to distributed computing and high performance computing so please be kind.

My university has access to an HPC which uses PBS/Torque. I’m currently running the ProgressiveHedging.jl package using all the cores of one node, but I have a lot of scenarios and I would like to run it on multiple cores on multiple nodes.

So far I figured out that I should pass --machine-file=$PBS_NODEFILE when I start up Julia, but I get the following error when trying to start julia on 2 nodes with 2 cores each:

✔ [May/12 12:08] <user_and_path> $ julia --machine-file=$PBS_NODEFILE
Joining job 50738709.tier2-p-moab-2.tier2.hpc.kuleuven.be
Joining job 50738709.tier2-p-moab-2.tier2.hpc.kuleuven.be
ERROR: TaskFailedException:
Unable to read host:port string from worker. Launch command exited with error?

So far I’ve managed to glean this information from my sysadmin:

The nodes communicate via infiniband network, which is a topology built on top of the hardware/power/storage setup. The using OpenMPI communicate wit one another via Torque, whereas the jobs using Intel MPI use SSH. When your account was create, an internal ssh key is also automatically generated inside your ~/.ssh folder; that is for this purpose.

So the nodes should be able to communicate and startup using SSH, so why does the above lead to an error? Also is the contents of PBS_NODEFILE enough for Julia to figure out what to do? (see below)

r25i13n16
r25i13n16
r25i13n17
r25i13n17

Look at Multi-processing and Distributed Computing · The Julia Language for the format of the machine-file.

Can you reach those nodes from the shell? What happens if you type ssh r25i13n16 hostname?

1 Like

Thanks for the reference, I had missed that in the documentation. It would be good to have an actual example of a machine-file as well as typing it out. I will make a pull request / issue.

So I tried again, my $PBS_NODEFILE looks like:

r25i13n07