Segfault and crash embedding when julia runs multithreaded gc

Hello! I’m very new to julia, but immediately tried to embed it into a node-based CG software (sidefx houdini) for geometry processing.
everything worked perfectly fine, until i ran a multithreaded loop that did a bunch of allocations. in that case it has observed 90% chance to crash mostly without stack trace.

• I am sure all julia-related functions are always called from the same thread (though parent software itself is multithreaded)
  • i tried rooting literally every variable that cases to jl_value_t* - it had no effect on crashes
  • i tried disabling gc with calling

jl_gc_enable(0);
jl_call(…);
jl_gc_enable(1);
and that totally solves crashes, but i cannot afford running code without garbage collection.

• in the end i could reduce it to a single call that crashes 90% of the time if more than one thread:

jl_eval_string(code);

where code is this below:

x=[1]
@time Threads.@threads for i in 1:100
global x=hcat(x,size(rand(10000,1000)));
end

if i either don’t use Threads module, or specify JULIA_NUM_THREADS=1 - nothing ever crashes

attaching some random generated traces (mostly it crashes with no messages, nothign at all)
some stacktraces

Julia Version 1.7.1
Commit ac5cc99908 (2021-12-22 19:35 UTC)
Platform Info:
CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 3950X 16-Core Processor
WORD_SIZE: 64
LIBM: libopenlibm
LLVM: libLLVM-12.0.1 (ORCJIT, znver2)
Environment:
JULIA_NUM_THREADS = 32

also tried julia 1.6.5 - same, tried different versions of houdini - same problem.
and obviously there is no problems running any of that threaded code in REPL.