Seeking assistance to INSERT data into Postgres DB using LibPQ.jl

Hi,

Firstly, I am still learning Julia and my recent attempts to expand into Julia is through testing how to write data into a PostgreSQL database. I have been able to successfully connect to and query data in a PG database.

However, I have been attempting to write some simple data to a PostgreSQL database using LibPQ.jl and have been unsuccessful. It is simple test data. I think I am having problems around the use of quotation marks, but I may very well be wrong. Here is an example of what I have tried.

LibPQ.load!(
    (dmdate = '2022-07-17', dmmetric = "overall", dmnum = 8),
	conn,
	"INSERT INTO dailymetrics (dmdate, dmmetric, dmnum) VALUES (\$1, \$2, \$3);")

In PG, the dmdate is a date, dmmetric is a varchar(20) and dmnum is an integer.

I am getting errors if I use single quotations around ‘overall’ because in Julia I know I need to use double quotes. However I am also getting errors when using single quotes around the date (“syntax: character literal contains multiple characters”). I seem to get different errors when I make Julia happy due to postgesql expectations around formating. I get argument errors that don’t satisfy the Tables.jl ‘AbstractionRow’ interface. I suspect this is due to when writing SQL I need to use single quotes around both the date and string (varchar). But I may be wrong on that. I’ve tried all variations and combinations of quotation marks.

Instead of LibPQ.load I’ve also tried variations around Data.stream to no avail. I feel like I am close but cannot work it out. There may be another way I can specify type but I cannot find how to do that.

I’d appreciate any assistance in fixing this.

Well, I have ruled out the types or quotation marks being the problem.

LibPQ.load!(
	(dmdate = Date("2022-07-17"), dmmetric = String("overall"), dmnum = Int(8)),
	conn,

Now I am getting another error.

IOError: stream is closed or unusable

1. check_open@stream.jl:386 [inlined]