Seek for a detailed description on scopes and modules

I am an R / Fortran programmer trying to understand scopes in Julia. I know the great debate local/global, but what I’m looking for is a document (resource) where the actual rules for scopes are described with examples. Also for modules that use modules. Is there any such document? The official docs at Julia Documentation · The Julia Language are complete but rather terse. Thanks.

Not sure if you missed it or just had further questions, but scope is documented in the manual here: https://docs.julialang.org/en/stable/manual/variables-and-scoping/#scope-of-variables-1. If you scroll down, there are some examples included.

The constructs let, for, while, try, catch, comprehensions, function and any syntax for a function (lambdas, do blocks) introduce new scopes.

When you see x = in a scope body, then it does one of two things:

1. If there is already an outer local variable called x, it assigns to that;
  2. Otherwise it declares a new x local to this new scope and assigns to it.

It does not matter if there is an outer global named x or not: it will never be assigned unless you write global x to declare that you want x to refer to the global named x.

We can crowd-source some examples.

1 Like

so you have global and a telescopic hierarchy of local ?

just a minimal example that confuses me. How does the function know that there is a Dict called tablefact ?

function ffact(i)
    tablefact[i]=i*tablefact[i-1]
    return tablefact[i]
end

global tablefact=Dict{Int64,Float64}()
tablefact[0]=1
for j in 1:10
    println(ffact(j))
end

println(tablefact)

Yes, there is a global scope in each module and a hierarchy of local scopes introduced by each scope-introducing construct.

You never assign to tablefact in the ffact body so it must refer to a global.

2 Likes

you mean, I never assign to the whole tablefact Dict ? Only to one of its cells?