Scipy using PyCall in Julia

I have a moderately large system of non-linear equations that I want to solve using scipy.optimize in Julia. The problem is that I store the equations in a vector before I pass them to the solver and PyCall doesn’t accept that. For example these methods both work:

using PyCall
@pyimport scipy.optimize as so

function F(x)
 f1=1- x[1] - x[2]
 f2=8 - x[1] - 3*x[2]
 return f1, f2
end

x0 = [1,1]
x = so.fsolve(F, x0)

function G(x)
 f=[1 - x[1] - x[2],
    8 - x[1] - 3*x[2]]
 return f
end

x0 = [1,1]
x = so.fsolve(G, x0)

However these do not:

function H(x)
 f[1]=1 - x[1] - x[2]
 f[2]=8 - x[1] - 3*x[2]
 return f
end

x0 = [1,1]
x = so.fsolve(H, x0)

function P(x)
 f[1]= 1 - x[1] - x[2]
 f[2]= 8 - x[1] - 3*x[2]
 return f[1], f[2]
end

x0 = [1,1]
x = so.fsolve(P, x0)

I don’t think it’s feasible to not use a loop because of the nature of the problem. Is there any way to return the vector in a way that fsolve can accept it?

I’m fairly new to Julia and I want to translate some MATLAB files in order to get a sense of the language. I have tried the NLsolver, but the system doesn’t converge even though I give the solution that I obtained from MATLAB as an initial guess.

You have now cross-posted in 3 places, even after the answer was already given.

https://www.reddit.com/r/Julia/comments/659kr7/using_scipy_in_julia/

What was the NLSolve code?

Yes, sorry about that. I posted before you gave me the answer.

I was thinking about copying and pasting your answer in case others have the same question but I wasn’t sure if that was polite even if I gave credit.

Should I delete the questions?

Takis

The NLSolver wasn’t converging with my full code, not the example that I posted. There is a chance that I made a typo while I was translating but it has to be something very minor because the iterations are close, but not converging.