Saving VegaLite Plots as SVG on Centos 6.1

Hi, I am trying to get VegaLite (v2.1.3) to work on CentOS 6.1.
Unfortunately, with no avail. I can produce plots fine, but saving them does not work.

using VegaLite
p = @vlplot(:line, y = rand(10));
save("test.svg", p)

gives /usr/lib64/libstdc++.so.6: version GLIBCXX_3.4.14' not found (and similar) Compiling a new version of libstdc solved this issue but then it complained about missing libc.so versions (/lib64/libc.so.6: version GLIBC_2.16’ not found). After compiling this (and of course setting LD_LIBARY_PATH accordingly) julia did not start anymore.
It seems that the vega to svg converter is written in node.js and the compiler on centos is too old.
I found a similar issue here Linux install problems - CXXABI_1.3.9 not found
But the proposed solution there did not help me.
I am not a linux expert, so I am a bit lost. Any help appreciated.
The output of my versioninfo is

Julia Version 1.4.1
Commit 381693d3df* (2020-04-14 17:20 UTC)
Platform Info:
  CPU: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU           X5650  @ 2.67GHz
  WORD_SIZE: 64
  LIBM: libopenlibm
  LLVM: libLLVM-8.0.1 (ORCJIT, westmere)

VegaLite.jl uses NodeJS.jl under the hood to save a plot as an SVG file. Could you try to run pkg> add NodeJS and then pkg> test NodeJS to see whether that works?

NodeJS.jl uses the artifact system to download the binaries that are hosted on the original nodejs site, so my best guess is that those binaries for some reason don’t work with CentOS?

Thank you for the quick reply and of course for your much appreciated work for the Julia community.
Unfortunately, testing NodeJS fails with the same error.
The linked discourse thread above also deals with node.js problems under centos, but it did not solve my issue. Can I tell NodeJS.jl to use a different node installation?