Sampling (no inference) from a mixture model (compound probability distribution)

I’ve never used Turing before and don’t have a lot of statistics knowledge but I’d love to be able to do this kind of thing anyway:

I don’t have any data. I only want to compute the expectation value of a somewhat complicated random variable.

Suppose you have N (e.g. 800_000) things, each of which is “a failure” with (i.i.d) probability Q (e.g. 5%) and otherwise “a success”. Call the total number of failures K. (I write K ~ Binomial(N, Q)) Suppose I draw a sub-sample of size n (e.g. 10_000) and count the number failures in the sample, call it k. (I write k ~ Hypergeometric(K, N-K, n), which is now a compound probability distribution).

Suppose I repeat this a million times. Is Turing.jl a good tool for getting samples for (K, k) even though I don’t want inference? I tried

using Turing, StatsPlots, Random
@model function gdemo()
           N = 800_000
           Q = 0.05
           n = 10_000

K ~ Binomial(N, Q)
           k ~ Hypergeometric(K, N-K, n)
       end
# Chose some arbitrary sampler...
my_sample = sample(gdemo(), SMC(), 1_000_000) 

This runs (single-threaded) and produces some samples. However, this takes an hour on my laptop. Is that normal or am I doing it wrong?

As a sanity check, I expect the distribution of k/n to be very close to Normal(Q, sqrt(Q*(1-Q) / n)), which looks ok:

mean(my_sample[:k] / 10_000)  # 0.0500006641
std(my_sample[:k] / 10_000)   # 0.002180021202067455
sqrt(0.05*(1-0.05) / 10_000)  # 0.0021794494717703367

However, does the way I’m using Turing (with this or some other sampler) get me closer to the true distribution than this Normal approximation? I also want to try different combinations of N, n, Q where the approximation may be bad.