RGB image operations: addition works, multiplication doesn't?

Hi all
I’m new to Julia, working on a script to perform flat field correction on images (as an introductory project, coming from python).

using TestImages, Images, Statistics
img = testimage("mandrill")

Now, looking at the following operations:

• test = img.*0.5 → works
  • test = img.+img and test = img.-img → works
  • test = img.*img and test = img./img → doesn’t work:
ERROR: MethodError: no method matching *(::RGB{Normed{UInt8,8}}, ::RGB{Normed{UInt8,8}})
Closest candidates are:
  *(::Any, ::Any, ::Any, ::Any...) at operators.jl:529
  *(::Normed, ::AbstractRGB{T}) where T<:Normed at C:\Users\paulyk\.juliapro\JuliaPro_v1.4.1-1\packages\ColorVectorSpace\B9KU5\src\ColorVectorSpace.jl:130
  *(::Real, ::AbstractRGB{T}) where T<:Normed at C:\Users\paulyk\.juliapro\JuliaPro_v1.4.1-1\packages\ColorVectorSpace\B9KU5\src\ColorVectorSpace.jl:126
Stacktrace:
 [1] _broadcast_getindex_evalf at .\broadcast.jl:631 [inlined]
 [2] _broadcast_getindex at .\broadcast.jl:604 [inlined]
 [3] getindex at .\broadcast.jl:564 [inlined]
 [4] copy at .\broadcast.jl:854 [inlined]
 [5] materialize(::Base.Broadcast.Broadcasted{Base.Broadcast.DefaultArrayStyle{2},Nothing,typeof(*),Tuple{Array{RGB{Normed{UInt8,8}},2},Array{RGB{Normed{UInt8,8}},2}}}) at .\broadcast.jl:820
 [6] top-level scope at none:0

Consequently, statistics like test = median(img, dims=(1,2)) also don’t work with a similar error. Any ideas why? I am able to get it working by “converting” to channelview:

img_chanview = channelview(img)
test = img_chanview.*img_chanview
median = median(channelview(img),dims=(2,3))