Retrieving CRS from vector and raster data

Hello, I’m new to Julia, as for now I was using mainly Python. What I want to do is to crop part of raster based on polygon. Both polygon and raster are in different spatial references and I have to convert either one of this (preferably polygon). The problem is I don’t know how I can retrieve CRS from polygon and raster objects. In python I used rasterio library to read raster CRS and pyproj library to convert polygon geometry held in GeoDataFrame. In Julia, I see there is a PROJ module, but I cannot find a way to retrieve raster’s CRS, even if I see crs param in output.

import GeoDataFrames as GDF
using Rasters

gdf = GDF.read("./geometry/warsaw_3857.shp") # GeoDataFrame containing one polygon; As stated in the name, it's polygon of Warsaw in EPSG:3857

geom = gdf.geometry[1]

my_raster = Raster("./rasters/red.jp2") # raster with red band from Sentinel-2 in EPSG:32634

Is there a simple way to obtain raster’s CRS in Julia? Should I use another packages to read data?

1 Like

Rasters.crs(raster) :wink:

for the gdf you may need GDF.crs(gdf) ? or GeoInterface.crs ?

This is actually a good reminder to remove Rasters.crs and instead use GeoInteface.crs - I just never got around to it.

Thank you, Rasters.crs(my_raster) worked successfuly, although it returned long xml-like string: