Resources for running julia routines in the background 24/7

Hi all,

I’d like to write a routine in Julia that will run 24/7, possibly for weeks or months at a time. It will run on one computer which won’t be used for much else other than running the Julia routine. The routine needs to be able to call other functions at specific times of the day, possibly thousands of times a day, but can be idle for the rest of the time. Sometimes one of these other functions might not achieve what they’re supposed to, since they’ll be interacting with the internet, so I would also need to be able to have the facility to tell the main routine to wait and try again in a couple of seconds or two if that happens.

I’ve never written this kind of code before, and so was wondering if the community could point me in the right direction for what functions and/or packages I should be looking at. I’m just asking for pointers in the right direction and will happily go off and do lots of reading once I know the main resources. I just figured it was best to ask here first so I don’t waste too much time reading up on red herrings.

Cheers and thanks,

Colin

2 Likes

Julia and most of its packages are geared towards interactive use: when things don’t work out, you get an error that unwinds the stack (unless you catch it). This is because of the implicit assumption that the user would like to know about these errors which require intervention to fix anyway, and the cost of failing and restarting is low.

This is a good model for scientific computing, but not 24/7 services. You did not specify what you are doing and how the calls are initiated (triggered by exogenous events? or times?), but you may be better off just building a user image with the packages you need (for faster startup times), and using another framework as a governor.

1 Like