RegisterWindowMessage and SendMessage

Hey there! Some background so you can better answer my question:
I’m a beginner in Julia (with a long background in hobbyist coding in various languages).
I set myself to learn the language by creating an automation module, instead of the usual helloworld/AOC way.

How ever, I ran in some problems in a couple of very basic API call’s and I’m too green to realise why.
Here are the snippets, SendMessage times out on every handle I try (Error 258). Which in my basic understanding means that some of the arguments are wrong, but I can’t see which and why.

const HANDLE                    = Ptr{Cvoid}
const LPSTR                     = Vector{UInt8}

function RegisterWindowMessage(message::String)
    msg = Vector{UInt8}(message)
    return ccall((:RegisterWindowMessageA, "user32"), stdcall, Cint, (Ptr{Vector{UInt8}},), Ref(msg) )
end

function SendWindowMessage(handle::HANDLE, msg::Cint)
    buffer = LPSTR(undef, 512)
    retval = ccall((:SendMessageA, "user32"), stdcall, Cint, (HANDLE, Cint, Cint, Ptr{UInt8}), handle, msg, sizeof(buffer), buffer)
    if retval == 0     
        return "NA"
    else
        buffer[end] = 0
        return String(unsafe_string(pointer(buffer),retval))
    end
end

msg = RegisterWindowMessage("WM_GETCONTROLNAME")
SendWindowMessage(HANDLE(app.HWND), msg))

Sorry if the snippets are formatted wrong, couldn’t find codeblock option :frowning:

Hello, I’m not exactly sure what your code should achieve and what desired output is, but I can help your from Julia side.

The code you provided isn’t self contained so I modified it a bit:

const HANDLE = Ptr{Cvoid}
const LPSTR = Vector{UInt8}

function RegisterWindowMessage(message::String)
    msg = Vector{UInt8}(message)
    return ccall((:RegisterWindowMessageA, "user32"), stdcall, Cint, (Ptr{Vector{UInt8}},), Ref(msg) )
end

function SendWindowMessage(handle::HANDLE, msg::Cint)
    buffer = LPSTR(undef, 512)