Registering in General packages not intended for the general public

(This has been spurred by a comment by Stefan on slack#pkg-registration) I’m a researcher at a lab. I write tools in Julia for the lab. I know no one outside the lab would need to use some of these tools. Should I be registering my tools in the General registry or not?

Reasons to why not:

1. Package names are a shared community resource, so don’t take up names for packages that only a handful would use when those names could be used by more popular packages.
  2. By registering a package you are essentially committing to keeping it registered forever. A package for a tool used by a lab doesn’t seem to fit that bill. A typical tool would be used for a couple of years at most.
  3. Packages at the registry are meant to be useful for everyone. These tools are usually very specific, useful for a handful of people at specific times for a short period of time.

Reasons to why yes:

1. Everything is automated and feature rich, why not use it? It’s there to be used, and the strain/cost is so minimal that there is no reason not to use it.

I’d like to hear your thoughts about this issue. If you think the general registry shouldn’t be used for such tools, what then are the best alternatives? It would be great if you could link to tutorials/docs when you suggest an alternative.

I’m slowly gravitating towards the answer “No”… But I’m uncertain how to replace the functionality of the registry (what with the registration bot, compat helper, the ease of just ]adding a package, etc.).

Thanks!

2 Likes

What part of the automation do you not get if you do not register the package?

• Compat helper works without registration
  • You can still pkg> add unregistered packages, you just need the full URL

True, but what about unregistered packages that depend on other unregistered packages that depend on other unregistered packages etc?

This is exactly what the LocalRegistry package is designed for.

4 Likes