Reading binary data from raw PCM files

Hello,

I’m new to Julia and trying to figure out a way to read raw PCM samples of audio. When encoded in WAV, I can use the wavread function from the WAV package. But, when the file is simply raw PCM without encoder/decoder metadata, it is just binary data that needs to be read as int16 in little endian format (typically).

In python, I do this:

import numpy as np
f = open(infile, mode='r+')
y = np.fromfile(f,d)
if e == 'BIG':
    y.byteswap(True)
f.close()

https://docs.scipy.org/doc/numpy/reference/generated/numpy.fromfile.html

Any suggestion on how to read binary data to specified data format would be helpful.

Thanks

Assuming that in your code d is the number of 16-bit values in the file and e is a string indicating endianness, this code will do it:

f = open(infile)
y = Vector{UInt16}(undef, d)
read!(f, y)
if e == "BIG"
    for (x, i) in enumerate(y)
        y[i] = bswap(x)
    end
end
close(f)

However, one thing about your Python code is unclear to me: how does it know to read int16 code units?

1 Like

From the numpy docs it appears that d is actually the data type. (count is the third argument and the default is to read all the data.) As such, you just need to change one line in @StefanKarpinski’s code

y = Vector{UInt16}(undef, stat(f).size ÷ sizeof(UInt16))

Where here d is UInt16.

1 Like

Thanks Stefan and dawbarton. Appreciate the quick help.

Yes, d is the data type which I can pass in as ‘int16’ (or whatever the type may be).

The code seems to work for a couple of vectors I tried. From the code, am I right to assume that the read!(f,y) function will do the type conversion and convert the binary data into the type of y?

Thanks

There’s no conversion really, it just reads data from the file into the array’s memory.

Sorry, conversion was a poor descriptor.