Quiver plot (Plots.pyplot) with different colors depending on the length of the arrow

Hello,
I am new to Julia and tried to plot the gradient field of a loss function. I can get the lengths of the arrows by norm(dx, dy). But I don’t know how to convert a vector of values (lengths) into a vector of colors or how to specify a color based on a value.
My plot order looks like this:
""pl=quiver(Kp_plot, Ki_plot, quiver=(grad_Kp, grad_Ki), xlims=(Kp_plot[1],Kp_plot[end]) ,ylims=(Ki_plot[1],Ki_plot[end]) “”

I searched for hours and hope desperately that someone can help me

Please check this post out.

1 Like

Thank you for this really quick response!
I already saw this post, but didn’t quite understand the argument line_z and how I could use it for my example. I found another code example with

Blockquote
color = np.sqrt(((v-n)/2) 2 + ((u-n)/2) 2)
quiver(X,Y,u,v,color, alpha=0.8)
Blockquote

but this doesn’t work as well. Some information is missing for me. :frowning:

But at least I found Blockquotes

Your last quote seems from Python.
You may define an array of arrow lengths and feed it to line_z argument as done here.
Best is to post a MWE.

I am not sure why I need 40 elements in line_z but this seems to do the trick.
quiver(rand(10),rand(10),quiver=(rand(10),rand(10)),line_z=rand(40))

using Plots
x = rand(10)
y = rand(10)
dx = rand(10)
dy = rand(10)
c = kron(sqrt.(dx .^2 .+dy .^2),[1,1,1,1])
quiver(x,y,quiver=(dx,dy),line_z=c)

Another way, that might be a bit simpler but, in pyplot() the arrow-head colors do not look good while they are fine in gr() …

using Plots
x , y = rand(10), rand(10)
dx, dy = rand(10), rand(10)
c = sqrt.(dx .^2 .+dy .^2)
c = [c c]'
quiver(x,y,quiver=(dx,dy),line_z=repeat([c...], inner=2), c=:thermal)
1 Like

Thanks to both of you for your help!

I have come a step further, but not quite where I want to be. Both of your code snippets produce the same output: