Question regarding size of variable with JuMP and Ipopt

Hello everybody,

I am new to JuMP and optimization using Julia and I am wondering if someone could explain to me why the following occurs. If I run the toy problem below with size_overall = 100 it takes some time, call it t1. The second time I do so it takes not even a second. Now if I rerun the code with size_overall = 1000 it again takes time even longer than t1. Reruning it again with size_overall = 100 takes again only seconds. I have also played around with bigger and smaller sizes.

What I need to do with a similar code is to run it consequetively many times with the size of x changing each time. However from this toy example it seems every time the size of the input vector is changed there is some large overhead. Would someone know why this is the case and how I can avoid it. It seems to be caused by optimize!(model) and I sould probably note that I am running it in a jupyter notebook.

Thank you very much for your help and time in advance!

using Zygote
using LinearAlgebra
using JuMP
using Ipopt
size_overall = 1000

function cost_func(x…)
dot(x,x)
end

function grad_cost_func(x…)
gradient(tx->cost_func(tx),x)[1]
end

model = Model(Ipopt.Optimizer)

@variable(model,x[1:size_overall])

JuMP.register(model, :f, size_overall, cost_func,grad_cost_func)
@NLobjective(model,Min,f(x…))
optimize!(model)
jump.value.(x)

Could I also add that it takes unreasoble amount of time to run the initial time if the size is above 100. Am I doing something wrong? I had the code before with Matlab and fmincon was spitting out solutions in seconds.

Try letting JuMP figure out the automatic differentiation.

JuMP.register(model, :f, size_overall, cost_func; autodiff = true)

Even better, try writing your problem algebraically instead of a user-defined function

using JuMP
using Ipopt
size_overall = 1000
@variable(model, x[1:size_overall])
@NLobjective(model, Min, sum(x[i]^2 for i in 1:size_overall))
optimize!(model)