Question about methods defined for supertypes

I am still new to Julia (about a year in and I am only starting to get it), so please bear with me.

So I was wondering what I could do with the type Base.KeySet which has supertype AbstractSet{K} where K. Currently, methods defined for Base.KeySet seems to be limited to

in(k, v::Base.KeySet) in Base at abstractdict.jl:63

Ok, fine. However, AbstractSet{K} where K has other methods defined for, such as:

setdiff!(s::AbstractSet, itr) in Base at abstractset.jl:167

In my head, I figured the methods defined for the supertype would also work for the methods defined for the subtype. However, the method above, does not work for type Base.KeySet.

I suppose I still have not quite gotten yet how types are meant to work in Julia, but I expected that Base.KeySet would behave as a AbstractSet{K} where K where behaviour is defined over methods, is this not correct?
Pedro

First, KeySet is an implementation detail, not an exposed interface (it is neither exported nor documented). It is used to implement keys. It is very unlikely that you need to be using it outside Base.

Second,

is not the right way to think about it. In absence of a more specific method, methods for the supertype can be called, but that does not mean they will work. Whether that is a bug depends on this behavior being part of the interface. Here, setdiff! fails because the first argument is not mutable (and it should not be).

If you want to modify a list of keys, use something like

k = Set(keys(a))

and work on that.

Thank you, for your reply. I am not sure what it means for Base.KeySet to be an implementation detail, but I do work with the instance of the type in my code, and for all intent and purposes, it’s just an instance of a type, like all others. Though we are talking specifically about Base.KeySet, we don’t need to, but for the sake of the question, if I wanted to write a function such as

function remove_default(xs::AbstractSet)::Nothing