Question about low pass filter in DSP.jl

Hi,

I’m new to the domain of signal processing. Recently I have encountered some phase related issues with the low pass filter in DSP.jl.

In MATLAB,

fs = 1e3;
t = 0:1/fs:1;
% comment out random noise for testing
x = [1 2]*sin(2*pi*[50 250]'.*t) % + randn(size(t))/10;

lowpass(x,150,fs)

gave me exactly what I expected

However, using DSP.jl

using DSP, PyPlot

fs = 1e3
t = 0:1/fs:1
# comment out random noise for testing
x = @. sin(2*pi*50*t) + 2*sin(2*pi*250*t)# + randn() / 10

responsetype = Lowpass(150; fs)
designmethod = FIRWindow(hanning(128; zerophase=false))
#designmethod = FIRWindow(hanning(64; padding=30, zerophase=false))
#designmethod = FIRWindow(rect(128; zerophase=false))
#designmethod = Butterworth(4)
x_low = filt(digitalfilter(responsetype, designmethod), x)

figure()
plot(t, x)
plot(t, x_low)

I got

with FIRWindow as shown above and

with Butterworth(5).

I also tried some other design methods, but I always saw a shift in phase. My question is, how can MATLAB guarantee no phase shift with lowpass, and how can I reproduce that using DSP.jl?

1 Like

I found that there is another function filtfilt. If I use filtfilt instead of filt, it seems to have zero phase distortion. Then when should I use filt if it always creates a shift? In the options of FIRWindows, there is often a zerophase optional argument that confuses me.

Hello
The phase shift is absolutely normal, you may juste have a look on the frequency response of you Butterworth filter at the frequency of your signal.
When you use filtfiltt you apply the filtering two times, the first in the classic way and a second time in a reverse way, which cancel the phase. Note that in practical systems (like real time filtering on a temporal series), you cannot do a filtfilt.

2 Likes