Question about concatenation using for loops

Hello,
I am new to coding in general. I know this is probably a simple question, but I’ve been looking through documentation for about an hour.

I have an array of eigenvalues, and I want to return a list of the real eigenvalues that fall between -1 and 1. In Python, I use a for loop and two if statements and the numpy function append to append the values to the end of an empty vector.

xvals = []
  for eval in evals:
    if(np.abs(np.imag(eval)) < 1e-6):
      xval = np.real(eval)
      if(-1 <= xval and xval <= 1):
        xvals.append(xval)

I’m translating this into Julia and I’m having a tough time. Here is my code so far:

e= length(evals)
xvals = []
xval=[]
for k=1:e
    if imag(evals[k]) < 1e-6 && imag(evals[k]) > -1e-6
        xval = real(evals[k])
        if xval <= 1 && xval >= -1
            xvals = hcat(xvals, xval)
        end
    end
    println(xvals)
end

Specifically, I’m getting a dimensions mismatch error “mismatch in dimension 1, expected 0 got 1”.

I’m also noticing if I try to concatenate an array in a for loop, that the for loop doesn’t seem to recognize global variables. For example the code:

A = [0,]
for i in 1:10
    A = hcat(A,i)
end

results in an error: a not defined in expression (starting at for loop).

So what is going on here? And, what is the preferred method to create such a vector?

Thanks!

First, the function you want is push!, not hcat: push! is the function to append a single element to an array, whereas hcat is for concatenating matrices horizontally (by columns).

Second, you can accomplish what you are trying much more simply with:

xvals = [real(e) for e in evals if abs(imag(e)) < 1e-6 && -1 <= real(e) <= 1]

Third, you are hitting the infamous global scope rule: when writing to a global variable A in a loop, you need to declare it as global A:

A = [0,]
for i in 1:10
    global A = push!(A,i)
end